LPL Captains List Of Lanka Premier League 2022-23 (Season 3)

The third edition of the Lanka Premier League is all set to commence from the 6th of December and will feature five franchises. All five teams have now announced their captains for the season. Here’s a look at the LPL Captains List Of Lanka Premier League 2022-23 (Season 3).

Kusal Perera will once again lead Colombo Kings in the upcoming season. The popular left-hander was at the helm when they won the title in 2020 and he will be looking to repeat that feat this year. Kusal has been in good form of late, most notably scoring a match-winning century against Bangladesh in the recently concluded Test series. He will be hoping to carry that form into the LPL and lead Colombo Kings to glory once again.

Dinesh Chandimal will skipper Galle Gladiators in the third edition of the Lanka Premier League. Chandimal has been one of Sri Lanka’s most experienced players over the years and he will be looking to use that experience to guide Galle Gladiators to victory. Chandimal has not played international cricket since 2019 but he did manage to score some runs for Nondescripts Cricket Club in domestic competitions last year.

Lanka Premier League Captains
Colombo Stars – Angelo Mathews

Mathews, a Sri Lankan legend, has captained the country in all three formats and was a key member of the team that won the 2014 T20 World Cup. He has been the Colombo Stars’ permanent captain since the league’s inception in 2020.

Dambulla Giants – Dasun Shanaka

Shanaka currently captains Sri Lanka’s white-ball teams and led his country in the recent T20 World Cup. This season, he’ll be hoping to lead the Giants to their first LPL title.

Galle Gladiators – Kusal Mendis

Mendis has led the Gladiators since the league’s inception in 2020. His team finished second in both 2020 and 2021 and will be hoping to improve this year.

Jaffna Kings – Thisara Perera

Thisara is the only captain to have won the LPL title twice, with the Jaffna Stallions in 2021 and the renamed Jaffna Kings in 2022.

Kandy Falcons – Wanindu Hasaranga

Hasaranga will be the Falcons’ third captain in three years, following Kusal Perera in 2020 and Angelo Perera in 2021. He will be hoping to turn around the Falcons’ fortunes, which have won just four games in the last two years.

Leave a Comment